MINUTES OF THE WORK SESSION OF THE PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION OF THE TOWN OF THATCHER January 3, 2012

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Chairman David Griffin, Members Pat Nelson, Ramon Morales, Mike Ajeman, and Town Engineer Heath Brown
MEMBERS ABSENT:	Member Jerry Hoopes
VISITORS:	None

Chairman David Griffin called the meeting to order at 7:03 pm, establishing that there was a quorum.

Pledge of Alliance

Roll Call

Approval of Minutes

Chairman David Griffin asked if there was any discussion of the October 2011 meeting minutes. Mr. Brown stated that Mr. Steve Allen had contacted Mrs. Duncan at the Town and had a question about the draft minutes. He stated that he recalled Mr. David Griffin making the motion to approve the proposed use and that Mr. Mike Ajeman seconded the motion. Mr. Brown stated that he contacted most of the Planning & Zoning members and those he talked to recall Mr. Jerry Hoopes making the motion and Mr. Ajeman seconding the motion. Mr. Brown also stated that the meeting notes reflect Mr. Hoopes making the motion. A motion was made by Mr. Ramon Morales to accept the minutes and seconded by Mr. Mike Ajeman. The vote was unanimous and the minutes were approved.

Public Hearing:

Town of Thatcher FY2012 CDBG Funding

Chairman Griffin asked Mr. Brown for an explanation of the CDBG program and the purpose of this public hearing. Mr. Brown explained that the CDBG program is a flexible program that provides communities with resources to address a wide range of unique community development needs. The Program provides annual grants on a formula basis to 1209 general units of local government and States. It also works to ensure decent affordable housing, to provide services to the most vulnerable in our communities, and to create jobs through the expansion and retention of businesses.

A grantee must develop and follow a detailed plan that provides for and encourages citizen participation. This integral process emphasizes participation by persons of low or moderate income, particularly residents of predominantly low- and moderate-income

neighborhoods, slum or blighted areas, and areas in which the grantee proposes to use CDBG funds. The plan must provide citizens with the following: reasonable and timely access to local meetings; an opportunity to review proposed activities and program performance; provide for timely written answers to written complaints and grievances; and identify how the needs of non-English speaking residents will be met in the case of public hearings where a significant number of non-English speaking residents can be reasonably expected to participate.

Several possible projects were proposed and discussed at the meeting including:

- Additional parking spaces added to the Towns existing parks.
- Upgrades added to the Towns existing parks, i.e. playground equipment, benches, trees, etc.
- Upgraded, ADA compliant restrooms at the Herb Winsor Ball Park.
- ADA compliant sidewalks and sidewalk ramps throughout the Town.
- Valley View Drive improvements including new curb, sidewalk, and pavement widening.
- Hoopes Avenue improvements including new curb, sidewalk, and pavement widening.
- Helping the City of Safford with their existing water tank, which is in need of upgrades including a new roof.
- Construction of a new little league ballpark.
- Sidewalks on Stadium Avenue.

Staff Report & Officer Elections:

Mr. Brown led the discussion about the need to replace the recently resigned Planning & Zoning Commission members, Mr. Mark Vining and Mr. Dennis Martin. Some names of potential members were mentioned and it was the Commissions consensus to wait until the newspaper advertisement was ran and review any applicants.

Also at the meeting the yearly elections were held for Planning & Zoning Commission officers. Mrs. Pat Nelson moved for Mr. Ramon Morales to be Chairman and was seconded by Mr. David Griffin. The vote was unanimous and the motion carried. Mrs. Nelson moved for Mr. Mike Ajeman to be Vice Chairman and was seconded by Mr. Griffin. The vote was unanimous and the motion carried.

Adjournment:

Mrs. Nelson made a motion to adjourn and Mr. Griffin seconded it. The vote was unanimous and the meeting adjourned.